General Information

Outdoor hiking

The hike

rando-groupe-foret-ponts-in31It’s done everywhere and is often combined with other activities such as observing nature, photography and tourism. In this type of activity, speed does not matter, everyone goes at his own pace and experience is not necessary. (1)

Hiking
Is normally done outside urban areas, along well located nature trails. Because there may be roots and rocks along the path, the walking speed is normally about 3 km / h. The length of a hike could be limited to a few hours, and seldom more than a day. A minimum of equipment is required, but no experience is necessary. (1)

Mountain hiking
This is just hiking in the mountains. Because the elevations are more important and obstacles more numerous, walking speeds can slow to 2km / h. The equipment and particularly shoes are more technical and in preparation, it’s recommended that you do at least one regular hike before venturing out. (1)

Degrees of difficulty

Beginner
A beginner trail is accessible to the vast majority of walkers. The route requires little or no preparation and minimal equipment. It often combines accessibility and interpretation and is for new hikers those whose physical condition limits a longer hike. Walk s could be up to 8 km if the elevation differential is less than 300 m.

Intermediate
The intermediate trail is for hikers who have already done a few outings and are in good physical condition. It requires minimal preparation and equipment such as a water bottle and raincoat, and hiking distances of up to 16 km when the elevation differential is less than 300 m. For climbs over 300 m, the suggested maximum walking distance is 8 km.

Advanced
The advanced trails are for experienced hikers in good physical shape. Rocks or steep slopes are part of the challenge, and hikes are in excess of 16 km with elevation differentials greater than 300 m.

Note
The hikes of more than one section may involve changes in the degree of difficulty. An average hiker travels an average of 12-15 km per day, which equates to 4 to 6 hours of walking, depending on the difficulty of the trail. A child’s age is usually a good indicator of the number of kilometers he or she can go. For example a six year old should be able to complete a 6 km hike, and the weight of their pack sack should not exceed 10% of their body weight. For winter hiking distances, consult out the snowshoe section.

(1) Source: Fédération québécoise de la marche

Infos générales

La marche de plein air

La promenade

rando-groupe-foret-ponts-in31 Elle se pratique partout et est souvent associé à une autre activité comme l’observation de la nature, la photographie ou le tourisme. Dans ce type de marche, la vitesse importe peu, chacun y va à son propre rythme. Aucune expérience nécessaire. (1)

La randonnée pédestre

Elle se fait surtout en dehors des villes, dans des sentiers tracés en pleine nature. En raison des racines et des roches souvent présentes dans le sentier, la vitesse de marche se situe à environ 3 km/h. La durée d’une randonnée pédestre peut être de quelques heures, mais ne dépasse pas une journée. Elle demande quand même un équipement minimum. Aucune expérience nécessaire. (1)

La randonnée en montagne

C’est une randonnée pédestre qui se déroule en terrain montagneux. Les dénivelés étant plus importants et les obstacles, plus nombreux, la vitesse de marche peut être réduite à 2km/h. L’équipement sera un peu plus spécifique en ce qui concerne les chaussures. Expérience : Avoir déjà fait au moins une randonnée pédestre sans difficulté particulière.(1)

Les degrés de difficulté

Débutant

Un sentier de niveau débutant est accessible à la grande majorité des marcheurs. Son parcours demande peu ou pas de préparation et un minimum d’équipement. Il conjugue souvent accessibilité et interprétation et s’adresse à ceux qui débutent ou dont la condition physique ne permet pas de longues randonnées. Distance de marche jusqu’à 8 km si le dénivelé est inférieur à 300 m.

Intermédiaire

Le sentier intermédiaire s’adresse aux randonneurs ayant déjà effectué quelques excursions ou aux personnes en bonne condition physique. Il nécessite une préparation et un équipement minimal : gourde, imperméable. Distance de marche jusqu’à 16 km si le dénivelé est inférieur à 300 m. Pour un dénivelé supérieur à 300 m, la distance de marche maximale suggérée est de 8 km.

Avancé

Le sentier avancé est destiné aux randonneurs d’expérience et aux gens en bonne forme physique. Les circuits dans lesquels on retrouve des rochers ou des pentes abruptes se classent dans cette catégorie. Distance de marche 16 km et plus pour un dénivelé supérieur à 300 m.

Note

Les randonnées constituées de plus d’une section peuvent entraîner un changement de niveau de difficulté.
Un randonneur moyen parcourt en moyenne de 12 à 15 km par jour, ce qui représente de 4 à 6 heures de marche selon les difficultés du sentier.

L’âge d’un enfant est généralement un bon point de repère pour estimer le nombre de kilomètres qu’il peut parcourir. Un enfant peut marcher au cours d’une journée un nombre de kilomètres égal à son âge (ex : 6 km à 6 ans). Le poids de son sac, s’il en porte un, ne doit pas dépasser 10% de son poids.

Pour les distances de marche durant l’hiver, consulter la section raquette.

(1) Source : Fédération québécoise de la marche